Roger Johansen

On The Up

Buy the CD here

Marit Sandvik - Vocal
Atle Nymo - Tenor Saxophone
Jon Eberson - Guitar
Rob Waring - Vibraphone
Bjørn Kjellemyr - Bass
Roger Johansen - Drums

All music written by Roger Johansen. Lyrics by Emily Dickinson. Recorded by Jock Loveband at Urban Sound Studios, Oslo, june 2013 Mixed march 2014 by Jock Loveband, Jon Eberson and Roger Johansen. Mastered by Håvard Christensen, april 2014 at Store Studio, Bodø.
Produced by Jon Eberson and Roger Johansen.
Design by Rune Mortensen.
Supported by
Fond for utøvende kunstnere and Fond for lyd og bilde.

The album 'On The Up" from 2014 brought Roger Johansen's trilogy of Emily Dickinson's poetry to an end. The sound of the band is still at the outer edge of the jazz universe, with a mix of pop, r&b, country music, a tad of Latin-American influences and pure jazz. Roger Johansen Group consists of six of Norway’s most prominent jazz musicians, and they’ve worked together in this band for almost 15 years when they’re not sidemen for some of the strongest names in international jazz.

Around Johansen’s melody-strong compositions, reveals responsive interaction, nice feeling and topline musicianship throughout. "On The Up" has it all: ear-candy-like good songs and strong grooves, together with inspirational, pensive lyrics.

Check out these as well